Fremantle Stuff > Organisations > Federal Government

Federal Government

The Federation of six Australian states called the Commonwealth of Australia came into effect 1 January 1901.
Elias Solomon (1839-1909) was the first Member for Fremantle in the Australian House of Representatives.
The current member for Fremantle was Josh Wilson (Labor), until 9 May 2018, when he resigned due to his perceived ineligibility under section 44 of the Constitution, regarding dual nationality. There will be a by-election, when Wilson will be eligible to stand, and will probably be returned, deo volente.

References and Links

Bowe, William & Martin Drum 2012, 'The state and federal seats of Fremantle: past, present, and future'Fremantle Studies, 7: 77-91.

Hitchcock, JK 1929, The History of Fremantle, The Front Gate of Australia 1829-1929, Fremantle City Council.

Garry Gillard | New: 4 May, 2018 | Now: 16 November, 2018